Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: Applications
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
 Subject :Teamspeak3 ??.. 2015-06-01- 00:19:02 
W0GN
Member
Joined: 2015-05-23- 11:55:32
Posts: 15
Location

I am new to mesh networking and trying to set up Teamspeak3 as a first application.

When I installed Teamspeak3 64 bit server, I misunderstood the applet with the token word and closed it.  Then I ran the server and client Teamspeak3 programs.  Of course I couldn't log in without the info I had deleted.

Finally, I deleted all the files and then installed TS3 server again.  This time I saved the server name, password, and key word.  I was able to log in with the Teamspeak3 client and insert the key word.

However, the server did not recognize me as a Super Admin.  I am just a Server Admin.  Could this be because I am using the single server free version?

Also, I am struggling setting up the routers on HamNet for TS3.  I can make .jpg files of my settings so they can be inspected.

Can somebody help me get started?

73,  John  WoGN




IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2015-06-02- 06:46:55 By W0GN for the Reason Made some progress with TS3
 Subject :Re:Teamspeak3 ??.. 2016-08-28- 07:53:24 
N4RT
Member
Joined: 2015-08-28- 08:46:09
Posts: 4
Location

John,

Did you ever get any help setting up TeamSpeak3?  I am trying to do the same thing but running into problems because I don't understand all I read on the subject.

I think I have the server set up correctly, but do not seem to be able to connect with a client running on another mesh node.  I'm pretty sure it has to do with setting up port forwarding correctly and I thought I had tried every possible combination of ports and IP addresses to no avail.  If you have TS3 working, could you send me a screenshot of the port forwarding configuration you're using on the BBHN nodes?

Any help you can offer would be appreciated.  I'm about to abandon TS3 and look for another application so I can demo at least some sort of voice comms or keyboard to keyboard comms over the mesh.

I am using a Ubiquiti NSM2 and an old WRT-54G as my nodes.

73,

Ron N4RT

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Teamspeak3 ??.. 2016-08-31- 04:01:18 
KU7PDX
Member
Joined: 2012-08-02- 10:31:35
Posts: 18
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
 
Unfortunately TeamSpeak has encryption that cannot be disabled to be Part 97 compliant. Last Wednesday at my monthly HSMM meeting we configured a TeamTalk 5 (http://bearware.dk/) server and demonstrated connecting to it via BBHN mesh. Overall, it was very easy to set up once we figured out that a generic user/pass needs to be created for all users to log in with. But TeamTalk 5 has voice chat, keyboard-to-keyboard chat, webcam and remote desktop capabilities.
IP Logged
73,
Chris Arnesen, KU7PDX
 Subject :Re:Teamspeak3 ??.. 2016-08-31- 04:29:11 
N4RT
Member
Joined: 2015-08-28- 08:46:09
Posts: 4
Location
Hi Chris, Thanks for that info. Didn't realize that TS3 was encrypted... then I take it that TS5 is not encrypted... or at least you can turn it off somehow? If so, I will give it a try. 73, Ron N4RT
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Teamspeak3 ??.. 2016-08-31- 04:30:32 
N4RT
Member
Joined: 2015-08-28- 08:46:09
Posts: 4
Location
Oops, I meant TT5 (TeamTalk 5).
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Teamspeak3 ??.. 2016-08-31- 04:34:49 
KU7PDX
Member
Joined: 2012-08-02- 10:31:35
Posts: 18
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
 
Correct, no encryption with TeamTalk. I spent quite a bit of time trying to find out how to disable encryption with TeamSpeak and found out that because their audience is gamers and gaming competitions, they made their software non-functional without encryption enabled so that competitors can't figure out a way to listen in. Kinda annoying, but overall I think you'll find TeamTalk much more in-line with what you're looking for. :-)
IP Logged
73,
Chris Arnesen, KU7PDX
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: