Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: UBNT Firmware
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
 Subject :Firmware Installation.. 2014-02-07- 17:54:31 
k2vjk
Member
Joined: 2013-11-25- 10:55:46
Posts: 15
Location

Sorry to ask such a simple question, but I would like to know if the installation of the firmware on a M2HP is as straight forward as a Cisco, or if there are any fine points I should know about. Thanks.

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware Installation.. 2014-02-07- 20:42:41 
KG6JEI
Member
Joined: 2013-12-02- 19:52:05
Posts: 516
Location

It is a pretty straightforward and can be done from a web browser.

Give http://ubnt.hsmm-mesh.org/products/BBHN/wiki/HowTo/FlashUbiquiti a look for a step by step guide with photos.

IP Logged
Note: Most posts submitted from iPhone
 Subject :Re:Firmware Installation.. 2014-03-22- 14:48:49 
WJ1I
Member
Joined: 2014-01-30- 08:24:12
Posts: 3
Location:  MA, USA
So I think I've flashed my Bullet M2HP successfullyusing the airsoft "firmware update" function. aftyer everything reboots I can see a new WIFI node; a Ubiquity SSID called MESHNODE when I wifi scan from my WRT54G mesh node, but when I try to connect the to bullet over ethernet (direct connect) to localnode:8080 it can't connect. My PC's network card is set back to select IP address automatically. I've taken it back to the factory software with TFTP (v8.8.5) successfully and that works fine and have tried re-flashing, but am getting the same error. I'm using install notes from KG6JEI's post and think I'm following the post flashing connect procedure correctly! Am I making a rookie error here?
IP Logged
KE6BID
Dave
 Subject :Re:Firmware Installation.. 2014-03-22- 15:39:37 
KG6JEI
Member
Joined: 2013-12-02- 19:52:05
Posts: 516
Location

Sounds like you are doing it right 

Assuming your computer does get an new IP address after it has been flashed to BBHN (interface status should show an ip in 192.168.1.x )  it sounds like your not getting dns info in dhcp.  Some computers have settings that prevent picking up of an IP address.

try: http://192.168.1.1:8080 instead of http://localnode:8080 

IP Logged
Note: Most posts submitted from iPhone
 Subject :Re:Firmware Installation.. 2014-03-24- 13:14:54 
WJ1I
Member
Joined: 2014-01-30- 08:24:12
Posts: 3
Location:  MA, USA
Thanks for the assistance. Looks like I was simply being impatient with the Bullet rebooting and subsequent setting of IP address. I'm fully meshed now.... Next challenge is to connect to the mesh in town... I have a (not so minor) hill and tree problem to overcome!!
IP Logged
KE6BID
Dave
 Subject :Firmware Installation.. 2014-03-26- 04:43:11 
wx5u
Member
Joined: 2013-01-02- 00:30:45
Posts: 188
Location: Austin, TX

I've learned that if there's a windows machine and it can't find an IP after some changes, just shutdown and restart the windows PC.  Then wait a long time for it to really finish waking up.

Yes, you can usually force it to figure out where it is by unplugging cables, release/renew, and other commands, but you usually waste more time that way, and often think the router is at fault when it's really Windows. 

IP Logged
I'm not part of the development team, so take what I say with a grain of salt. I'm also easily confused.

Check out the free Wireless Networking Book
 Subject :Re:Firmware Installation.. 2014-07-23- 08:42:20 
KD9ABV
Member
Joined: 2014-07-14- 13:08:57
Posts: 2
Location
I did the same thing. Flashed with the firmware in airOS. Changed to automatically obtain IP. Rebooted, unplugged bullet. waited a minute. Plugged everything back in. Still unable to get to it via the gateway address. tried 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.1:8080 localnode:8080 Cannot get the airOS webpage to come up. I am able to ping 192.168.1.1
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Firmware Installation.. 2014-07-23- 08:47:11 
KD9ABV
Member
Joined: 2014-07-14- 13:08:57
Posts: 2
Location
I disabled my non connected wireless device and was able to connect in via http://192.168.1.1:8080 :)
IP Logged
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: