Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: Problems & Answers
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
 Subject :UDP Port Question.. 2010-09-03- 03:14:46 
wb5nfc
Member
Joined: 2010-08-29- 03:10:50
Posts: 3
Location: Mountain Home, AR

I am new to HSMM-MESH but reasonably comfortable with networking  concepts. I was hoping to use HSMM-MESH to provide a remote link to one  of my repeaters that uses an Asterisk-based controller. I have been  experimenting with various configurations parameters, but so far I have  not been able to successfully forward UDP ports across the mesh.  Does  HSMM-MESH support UDP port forwarding?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
John / WB5NFC

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2010-09-03- 19:53:56 
AD5OO
Admin
Joined: 2010-01-18- 23:05:42
Posts: 37
Location
Yes, all IP traffic can be transported over the mesh. What exactly is your goal, and how are you trying to get there? ad5oo
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2010-09-04- 02:59:56 
wb5nfc
Member
Joined: 2010-08-29- 03:10:50
Posts: 3
Location: Mountain Home, AR
I'm attempting to use a distribution of Asterisk (ACID) which has provisions for Echolink and IRLP. The system is operational through my home network (Linksys WRT-54 with DD-WRT). For testing, I have a two-node HSMM-MESH set up in the house. I have Internet access across the mesh, but I lose the ability to connect using Echolink. To troubleshoot, I downloaded a Windows copy of Echolink and installed it in place of the Asterisk box (same IP). The port testing utility within Echolink indicates that TCP ports are open, but UDP ports are not. First I tried forwarding all necessary ports and then tried DMZing through both routers. I'm successfully logging in to the Echolink server via the mesh, but I'm not able to connect.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2010-09-05- 11:56:44 
AD5OO
Admin
Joined: 2010-01-18- 23:05:42
Posts: 37
Location
I'm still not clear exactly what your setup is. Can you tell us what your node setup is, what is connected to them, and which routes work and which do not?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2010-09-18- 16:12:43 
wb5nfc
Member
Joined: 2010-08-29- 03:10:50
Posts: 3
Location: Mountain Home, AR

Sorry for sparse information and delay. I had walked away from this project for a few days...

I have two WRT54Gs configured  with HSMM-MESH 0.3.3-WRT54G firmware. Node 1 is configured as a gateway and is connected to my home router where it receives a DHCP-provided IP on the WAN port. Node 2 is also located at my home QTH for testing. My Asterisk server is attached to the LAN port of Node 2. For testing, target nodes are all DMZ’d. IAX2 and HTTP work across the mesh. My Echolink node shows to be logged in and active, but I cannot connect to other Echolink stations, nor can any Echolink station connect to me. Echolink is not in use on any other computers at the time of testing.

Thinking that I must have HSMM-MESH configured improperly, I temporarily replaced the Asterisk server (where Echolink resides) with a laptop running Windows Echolink software.  The laptop was set to the same static IP as the Asterisk server. The Echolink software test shows that UDP ports fail. TCP ports pass. However, upon further investigation, it appears that Echolink validates the private IP of HSMM-MESH Node 2, rather than the public IP assigned by my ISP.

I hope that helps clarify what I’m attempting to do… everything works as it should if I bypass the HSMM-MESH nodes and connect to my home network. I'm hearing from some that Echolink will not work across a mesh network. If that's the case, there are some fairly easy ways to work-around the problem. I am just curious if others are successful where I have failed.

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2010-09-19- 02:41:42 By wb5nfc for the Reason
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2011-03-08- 11:59:40 
Joined: 2020-09-21- 22:14:39
Posts: 0
Location
Are you sure ver. 0.3.3 handles UDP ports. I do not think that feature came out until 0.4.0 or 0.4.1 recently.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2011-08-06- 23:41:04 
K4RJJ
Member
Joined: 2011-01-08- 11:57:13
Posts: 31
Location: Dallas GA

Any updates on this topic?  I was going to try this next week and will report results. 

73 K4RJJ

Ronny

 

IP Logged
 Subject :Re:UDP Port Question.. 2011-08-08- 20:12:24 
ae5ae
Member
Joined: 2010-10-27- 00:47:17
Posts: 144
Location: Van Alstyne, TX
If you're not using a version 0.4.1, you should be!!! If it helps, I connect with EchoLink repeaters from my laptop over my mesh with the 0.4.x versions, no problemo. -Rusty-
IP Logged
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: