Broadband-Hamnet™ Forum :: UBNT Firmware
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
«StartPrev12NextEnd»
 Subject :Re:Questions.. 2014-04-28- 22:53:25 
KG6JEI
Member
Joined: 2013-12-02- 19:52:05
Posts: 516
Location

It may be easier if you just disable the WAN interface and use the LAN for your internet setup (when you disable the WAN it can use LAN for GW)

It doesn't look like you have configured your dd-wrt right (I'm not a dd-wrt expert however). As noted it's an advanced setup and dd-wrt forum would be better place to ask your question. 

You will than have to setup static routing on any PC you want to be able to get I the mesh to route 10.x to the mesh node and use the mesh node as dhcp

Smart switch is by far the easiest if you need to keep the network isolated or wish to keep deployment easy.

IP Logged
Note: Most posts submitted from iPhone
 Subject :Re:Re:Questions.. 2014-05-01- 17:12:59 
kb3zto
Member
Joined: 2014-03-04- 10:48:08
Posts: 5
Location: Pennsylvania
 
Hey KG6JEI, Ya that's what I am afraid of with having to use the switch. I would like to use a router because if someone wanted one of these at their place, they could use the wifi and it would be a lot cheaper than a $55 switch and another access point for wifi. When you say disabling WAN on the node, what do you mean that it can use the LAN for GW? Would it recognize the router's internet connection on 192.168.9.1? If I do use the WAN on the Node, what do it's IP settings have to be? From what you can see on the DD-WRT settings, what there looks like it might be setup wrong? I still need to ask the DD-WRT people about it but would like some input from you as well. I would like to avoid any configuration on the computers on the LAN because that way anyone's computer would work fine with it and not have to be setup by me first. Thanks for the help.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Re:Re:Questions.. 2014-05-01- 17:47:50 
KG6JEI
Member
Joined: 2013-12-02- 19:52:05
Posts: 516
Location

Issues I see:

1) the WAN and LAN networks can not share the same address space (on the BBHN node)
2) the DD-WRT advanced routing you appear to be telling the DD-WRT to go out via the vlan wan port to reach the network which would conflict with your LAN.

As mentioned a lot of using dd-wrt as a swart switch depends on what hardware you have dd-wrt running on. Example: on a wrt54 you can actually control each individual port and it basically becomes a 'smart switch' with a router.  while on some other hardware ALL ports have to share the same configuration.  (http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Support)

Lets take a step back

What exactly is the setup you are trying to accomplish?  What do you want people to be able to do and not be able to do on this setup?





[kb3zto 2014-05-01- 12:12:59]:

Hey KG6JEI, Ya that's what I am afraid of with having to use the switch. I would like to use a router because if someone wanted one of these at their place, they could use the wifi and it would be a lot cheaper than a $55 switch and another access point for wifi. When you say disabling WAN on the node, what do you mean that it can use the LAN for GW? Would it recognize the router's internet connection on 192.168.9.1? If I do use the WAN on the Node, what do it's IP settings have to be? From what you can see on the DD-WRT settings, what there looks like it might be setup wrong? I still need to ask the DD-WRT people about it but would like some input from you as well. I would like to avoid any configuration on the computers on the LAN because that way anyone's computer would work fine with it and not have to be setup by me first. Thanks for the help.

IP Logged
Note: Most posts submitted from iPhone
 Subject :Re:Re:Questions.. 2014-05-04- 23:31:35 
kb3zto
Member
Joined: 2014-03-04- 10:48:08
Posts: 5
Location: Pennsylvania
 

Hey KG6JEI,

Thanks for the help.  The setup I am trying to make would be basically a mesh node that could be installed on a house or water towers.  There are a lot of waters in the area and I mapped out the ones that can have visual line of site from tower to tower.  I do IT work locally and know people in the local municipalities so I can get access to the towers.  The plan is for each node to be installed on as many local towers as possible, one for each small town and city.  Then each node will have a high power WiFi AP on the LAN that is open for anyone to connect to.  The nodes will also have another high power WiFi AP connected to the WAN and pointed to the wifi of local businesses or homes that are ok with sharing their internet.  Or else the node can get internet from the mesh.  Each node system is off grid on top of each tower and powered by solar/batteries.  In emergencies it can behave like a secondary internet connecting the towns and open to the public for use.

The sad reality is that I would have to have it run under part 15 like any other WiFi device for anyone to be able to use and use websites online.  Otherwise I would have the Federal Censorship Commission crawling up every hole i got.  Though I would still like to have a regular ham mesh node running at my place to build off of for local hams.  

I think I will end up using the switch to separate the VLAN.  I looked up the GS108E and GS105E, the 5 port would be plenty for me.  The thing I wasn't sure of was that they were unmanaged switches.  I thought that only a managed switch could be logged into and configured.  Will the unmanaged switch still do this? Or do I have the wrong version?  

Thanks again for the help.  This work will help a great project, and is also sparking interest in the ham club I'm in for using the the ham radio version of this.

Roy, KB3ZTO

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 2014-05-04- 23:32:06 By kb3zto for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Questions.. 2014-05-05- 00:18:59 
KG6JEI
Member
Joined: 2013-12-02- 19:52:05
Posts: 516
Location

So the GS10xE switches are being called "Unmanaged Plus" switches --- I'll give them credit for showing they are not 'fully managed' switches but that they are at least more than an unmanaged switch and have the needed features for splitting the port but its a really bad name for what they do, but at least they didn't over market!

OK so based on what your describing it should be do-able with a dumb switch IF the devices your using for "WAN" support vlan tagging. All likelyhood you would run this in a 'bridge' mode

I just tried it with AirOS assuming it was going to be a Ubiquiti for the WAN port and they have a restriction that wont let you tag VLAN1 in AirOS otherwise 3 Ubiquiti devices would work plugged into a dumb switch (2 running AirOS 1 running mesh)

As long as you can configure the wired port of your device that will provide WAN access to tag all its packet with an tag of number 1 it will work and speak to the WAN port of the Ubiquit device.  DD-wrt should be able to do this when configured correctly. I don't have any dd-wrt devices however to test with. Assuming this device is not the one providing the AP services to the LAN as well than you can just disable the network that is on the untagged network.

The other option is run MESH throughout all spots (including the downlinks to locations) and only at this point have a smartswitch to pull out the WAN port.  In our next release devices will support Back To Back linking that will allow you to plug multiple devices together (such as to point to a backbone) --- This would eliminate the need to split the WAN out at each node  and instead only need it at location where you get internet.

In either case these setups *CAN* be done, it will just really depend upon the devices you use to be the WAN or LAN wireless devices.  Spend some time looking at the devices you want to use in those positions and see how they would do the following:

For the WAN to MESH node device you want to ask "How can I bridge the wireless to the wired ethernet port  on an 802.1q tagged vlan of 1"

For the LAN to MESH node its  "How can I bridge the wireless to over to the wired ethernet port"  (or maybe you want to be a router instead here -- because a mesh node only allows a max of 15 IP addresses on the LAN port in current builds)  

IP Logged
Note: Most posts submitted from iPhone
«StartPrev12NextEnd»
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard


SPONSORED AD: